Image Alt

Our Intention

From the Past into the Future

Merianin 2018+

On the occasion of the commemorative year for Maria Sibylla Merian in 2017, 300 years after her death, the regional group of the Bund Naturschutz, together with the Merian School in Nuremberg, created a flower bed specifically to attract butterflies and insects in the “Heilkräutergarten” (Medicinal Herb Garden) at the Hallertor. This was the beginning of their co-operation with Margot and Dieter Lölhöffel, who have long been following in Maria Sibylla Merian's footsteps by highlighting the need to protect butterflies and by demanding more habitat for them.

One year later we saw the 350th anniversary of Maria Sibylla Merian’s arrival in Nuremberg, and we celebrated our own local jubilee year with some new initiatives, all in keeping with the slogan:
“MERIANIN 2018+ New Habitats for Insects”

Our ideas met with considerable support and the Merianin 2018+ project began to grow. Since then we have distributed our own brochure comparing Merian’s research with the needs of bees, bugs and butterflies nowadays.

We have worked out some proposals designed to transform public parks, cemeteries, the outside areas round residential and office buildings, previously neglected waste ground, private gardens and even balconies into little pieces of paradise for insects. Stefan Mümmler, who teaches on environmental issues, goes into schools with caterpillars and the appropriate equipment. Children observe the metamorphosis of the caterpillars and – after some weeks ‒ take the butterflies to the nearest habitat meadow to release them and let them fly away.

Logo representing our intitiative

Our roll-ups presented at the "Botanic Garden Day" in Erlangen in summer 2019

Our very active Children’s Museum offers several programmes and project days which combine the urgent need to protect our environment with Merian’s exemplary work. Together we have produced three major roll-ups:

(1) Merian's life and work, contrasted to the roll-up with
(2) Facts and figures about Nuremberg during the time she and Graff lived here.
(3) The life and work of Johann Andreas Graff are an important complementary theme.

We offer them to workshops in schools, to public events in garden centres or even in the Botanical Garden in Erlangen. These are just a few examples of the many activities taking place under the virtual patronage of Maria Sibylla Merian.

MERIAN AND NUREMBERG

Merian and the socio-cultural tradition in Nuremberg

She is becoming increasingly popular in Nuremberg. Many of the people who live here already know that she was “Frau Gräffin” [Mrs Graff] in her Nuremberg time, but prefer to call her “Merianin” in German, with the feminine ending (-in) on her maiden name, as was usual for her time. People of very different social levels (not only naturalists or art historians) are interested in knowing more about her and about their own city in the second half of the 17th century, a period that has been neglected up to now in scholarly research – as have her husband Johann Andreas Graff and his merits.

In the last two years it has become obvious that people are more attentive towards and cooperative in fighting for new solutions to the problems of our time when they find echoes in their local history and can be proud of their own city’s past.

So we hope that our success will continue and that MERIANIN 2018+ can be deeply rooted in our own tradition. This is an important precondition for our success to continue and to enjoy a lasting effect.

In the near future – starting in the year 2025 – further important events in Merian's life will witness their 350th anniversary, all within a few years of one another. All these accomplishments are closely linked to Nuremberg: here she worked intensively and tirelessly on her first six books. It was here that these six books were published, volumes which to this very day ensure her fame worldwide. If you touch the title pages with your cursor, you will see in which year we can celebrate the 350th anniversary of the publication of one of Merian's books in Nuremberg. Please try it out!

1675

First
Flower Book

2025

1678

Second
Flower Book

2028

1679

First
Caterpillar Book

2029

1680

Third
Flower Book

2030

1680

New
Flower Book

2030

1683

Second
Caterpillar Book

2033

In 1682 Merian returned to Frankfurt with her husband and daughters for family reasons, but one year later her "Second Caterpillar Book" was nonetheless published in Nuremberg. This long-standing, successful relationship with Nuremberg should be one reason for us to remember this world-famous artist and natural scientist in this city more than anywhere else.

But we are not only dealing with memory culture: her research as the "first ecologist" is also ground-breaking, both for our present time and for the future. With Merian’s support as our symbolic patroness we hope that many new meadows will grow as a home for insects as well as colourful flower beds in Nuremberg and its surroundings, where bees, butterflies and other insects find a rich choice of nutrition and like to take up residence.

Therefore the little "+" is an important part of our motto since it points to the future.

The initiative "Merianin 2018+" wants to contribute to, and ensure, our continued enjoyment of the buzzing, fluttering creatures found in Merian’s fascinating copper prints, so that we may marvel at just as many variations of them in the natural world in the future.

lorem ipsum

Plants in the Maria Sibylla Merian Garden at the Imperial Castle with the copper print of her lilies and bright red beetles
Photo: Dieter Lölhöffel

en_USEnglish

Image Alt

Unsere Absicht

Von der Vergangenheit in die Zukunft

Merianin 2018+

Zum Gedenkjahr 2017 für Maria Sibylla Merian, 300 Jahre nach ihrem Lebensende, hat die Kreisgruppe des BUND Naturschutz zusammen mit der Nürnberger Merianschule im Heilkräutergarten am Hallertor ein Schmetterlings- und Insektenbeet angelegt. Dabei entstand die Zusammenarbeit mit Margot und Dieter Lölhöffel, die sich schon lange auf den Spuren von Maria Sibylla Merian für Schmetterlinge einsetzen und mehr Lebensraum für diese einfordern.

Ein Jahr später jährte es sich zum 350. Mal, dass Maria Sibylla Merian nach Nürnberg kam, und wir feierten unser eigenes lokales Jubiläumsjahr mit einigen neuen Initiativen unter dem Slogan:
„MERIANIN 2018+ Neuer Lebensraum für Insekten“

Unsere Ideen fanden viel Unterstützung und das Projekt Merianin 2018+ begann zu wachsen. Seitdem verteilen wir eine eigene Broschüre, in der Merians Forschung mit den Bedürfnissen von Bienen, Käfern und Schmetterlingen in der heutigen Zeit verglichen wird.

Wir haben einige Vorschläge entwickelt, um öffentliche Parks, Friedhöfe, Außenflächen von Wohnanlagen und Firmengebäuden, bisher vernachlässigte Restflächen, private Gärten und sogar Balkone in kleine Insektenparadiese zu verwandeln. Der Umweltpädagoge Stefan Mümmler geht mit Raupen und der entsprechenden Ausrüstung in Schulen. Die Kinder beobachten die Metamorphose dieser Raupen und bringen – nach einigen Wochen – die Schmetterlinge auf die nächstgelegene Wiese und lassen sie fliegen.

Logo unserer Initiative

Unsere Roll-ups beim „Tag des Botanischen Gartens“ in Erlangen im Sommer 2019

Unser sehr aktives Kindermuseum bietet mehrere Programme und Projekttage an, in denen die dringende Notwendigkeit, unsere Umwelt zu schützen, mit Merians vorbildlicher Arbeit verbunden wird. Gemeinsam haben wir drei große Roll-ups produziert:

(1) Merians Leben und Werk wird gegenübergestellt dem Roll-up mit
(2) Fakten und Abbildungen über Nürnberg in der Zeit, in der sie hier lebte.
(3) Leben und Werk von Johann Andreas Graff sind ein wichtiges ergänzendes Thema.

Wir bieten sie für Workshops in Schulen, für öffentliche Veranstaltungen in Gartencentern oder sogar im Botanischen Garten in Erlangen an. Dies sind nur einige Beispiele für die vielfältigen Aktivitäten unter der virtuellen Schirmherrschaft von Maria Sibylla Merian.

Die Merianin und Nürnberg

Schaubild: Die Merianin im Netzwerk der sozio-kulturellen Traditionen damals und heute

Sie wird in Nürnberg immer beliebter. Viele der hier lebenden Menschen wissen bereits, dass sie in ihrer Nürnberger Zeit „Frau Gräffin“ [Frau Graff] war, nennen sie aber lieber „Merianin“, mit der für die damalige Zeit üblichen weiblichen Endung an ihrem Mädchennamen. Menschen ganz unterschiedlicher sozialer Schichten (nicht nur Naturforscher oder Kunsthistoriker) interessieren sich für sie und ihre Stadt in der zweiten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts, eine Zeit, die in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung bisher vernachlässigt wurde – ebenso wie ihr Nürnberger Ehemann Johann Andreas Graff und seine Verdienste.

In den letzten zwei Jahren hat sich gezeigt, dass die Menschen aufmerksamer und kooperativer im Kampf um neue Lösungen für die Probleme unserer Zeit sind, wenn sie ein Echo in ihrer lokalen Geschichte finden und stolz auf die Vergangenheit ihrer eigenen Stadt sein können.

Wir hoffen also, dass MERIANIN 2018+ sich in unserer eigenen Tradition tief verwurzeln kann. Dies ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, damit unser Erfolg weitergehen und nachhaltig wirken kann.

In nächster Zeit – beginnend mit dem Jahr 2025 – werden sich innerhalb weniger Jahre weitere wichtige Ereignisse im Leben der Merianin zum 350sten Mal jähren. Alle diese Leistungen sind eng mit Nürnberg verbunden: Hier arbeitete sie intensiv und unermüdlich an ihren ersten sechs Werken. Hier wurden diese sechs Bücher veröffentlicht, für die sie bis heute weltberühmt ist. Bei Berührung der Titelblätter mit dem Cursor wird angezeigt, in welchem Jahr wir das 350. Jubiläum der Veröffentlichung eines Buches der Merianin in Nürnberg feiern können. Bitte ausprobieren!

1675

Erstes Blumenbuch

2025

1678

Zweites Blumenbuch

2028

1679

Erstes Raupenbuch

2029

1680

Drittes Blumenbuch

2030

1680

Neues Blumenbuch

2030

1683

Zweites Raupenbuch

2033

1682 kehrte die Merianin zwar aus familiären Gründen mit ihrem Mann und ihren Töchtern nach Frankfurt zurück, aber ein Jahr später erschien noch in Nürnberg ihr „Zweites Raupenbuch“. Diese langjährige, erfolgreiche Beziehung zu Nürnberg soll Anlass sein, um gerade in dieser Stadt auch in den kommenden Jahren an diese weltberühmte Künstlerin und Naturforscherin zu erinnern.

Aber es geht uns nicht nur um Erinnerungskultur: Ihre Recherchen als „erste Ökologin“ sind auch wegweisend für unsere gegenwärtige Zeit mit unseren gravierenden Umweltproblemen. Mithilfe der Merianin als symbolischer Schirmherrin wird es hoffentlich gelingen, in Nürnberg und seiner Nachbarschaft viele  Blumenwiesen und bunte Beete zu schaffen, wo Bienen, Schmetterlinge und andere Insekten ein reiches Nahrungsangebot vorfinden und sich gern niederlassen.

Deshalb ist das kleine „+“ ein wichtiger Bestandteil unseres Mottos und weist in die Zukunft.

Die Initiative „Merianin 2018+“ will ausdauernd und ideenreich dazu beitragen, dass wir die summenden und flatternden Lebewesen auf den faszinierenden Kupferstichen der Merianin in Zukunft ebenso vielfältig auch in der Natur bewundern können.

lorem ipsum

Bepflanzung im Maria-Sibylla-Merian-Garten auf der Kaiserburg mit dem Kupferstich ihrer Lilie und hochroten Käferlein
Foto: Dieter Lölhöffel

de_DEDeutsch